Jewish War Veterans of the United States of America

Individual Awards

Judge Lawrence Gubow Memorial Award

This award will be given annually in memory of Judge Lawrence Gubow to the outstanding individual in the field of Americanism.

Any member of the organization is eligible for this award. The entry for the award must be submitted by the Post, County or Department Commander. The winner’s name will appear on a permanent plaque at National Headquarters and, in addition, the winner will receive a plaque in recognition of this honor.

To be eligible for this award, a statement must be submitted with substantiating evidence of the following activities:

  • Grave decoration;
  • Induction of new citizens;
  • Sponsoring of patriotic rallies and parades;
  • Sponsoring of voter registration;
  • Get out and vote program;
  • Americanism essay contest;
  • Participation in youth activities; and
  • Legislative education campaigns.

Individual Award-Membership Recruitment

A suitable award is given to the member recruiting the greatest number of new members (transferred or reinstated members not included in this award).
In order for the individual to be eligible for an award, the attached form (below) must be filled out and signed by the Post Commander certifying accuracy and that per capita has been received by National Headquarters. If more than one member in a Post is entering his or her name for the prize, a separate entry must be submitted at the same time. Names of new members should not be listed on more than one submission. This form should be submitted to the JWV Membership Department no later than July 17, 2015.

Murray L. Rosen Award

This award, given in memory of PNC Murray L. Rosen, is bestowed upon a member of JWV who, through his work on behalf of veterans, Jews, and his community, best exemplifies the ideals and aspirations of the Jewish War Veterans of U.S.A. The recipient is chosen each year by the National Commander so no outside recommendations will be considered. The Award will be presented at the National Commander’s Banquet on Saturday, Aug. 8, 2015.