Jewish War Veterans of the United States of America

Medal of Honor Celebration

An Evening to Honor:
Jewish Medal of Honor Recipients
All Medal of Honor Recipients

Saturday, February 14, 2015

Crystal City Marriott Grand Ballroom
1999 Jefferson Davis Highway
Arlington, Virginia
Cocktail Reception 7:00pm
Dinner 8:00pm

Black Tie Optional, Mess Dress or Class A Uniform

Saturday, February 14, 2015 is a night to honor all Medal of Honor recipients for their service and sacrifice to the United States. Please add your support to this evening.

Table (10 seats)- $5,000.00
Half table (5 seats)- $2,500.00
2 seats- $1,000.00
1 seat- $500.00

Your donation of a seat will enable us to invite a member of the military to attend in your place. To donate or reserve your place, go to or call JWV at 202-265-6280.

Since 1896, the Jewish War Veterans of the USA (JWV) chartered by Congress, has been tasked with the responsibility to support, insure benefits for, and honor our troops. We have pursued this mission vigorously.

Beginning in the 1950s, rumblings arose that bias in the chain of command prevented truly deserving service personnel from receiving our nation’s highest honor, the Medal of Honor. Throughout the remainder of the twentieth century, these rumblings grew louder. JWV and other veterans’ organizations began to respond. Our members, people who had served with the deserving veterans and those whose lives had been saved by them, stated that these veterans were being prevented from being awarded the Medal of Honor because of their race, religion, or ethnicity.

In 2001, JWV legislative chairman, Republican Congressman Ben Gilman, and JWV patron member, Democratic Congressman Robert Wexler, helped pass Section 552 of Public Law 107-107. This law mandated the review of the records of all Jewish American veterans and all Hispanic American veterans whose service might merit the receipt of the Medal of Honor. As a result of this Act, Tibor Rubin received the Medal of Honor in 2005.

On March 18, 2014, 24 new members were enshrined in the Medal of Honor Society, including Pedro Cano, Jesus Duran, Jose Rodela, and Leonard Kravitz.

Jack H. Jacobs, a Rutgers University ROTC cadet, found himself in Vietnam as an advisor to the South Vietnamese Army. One day on patrol, Jack’s battalion was ambushed and he was badly wounded. Bleeding profusely, he remembered the learned refrain from Hillel, “If I am only for myself, what am I? And if not now, when?” He got up, took charge, and stabilized an almost untenable situation. He charged forward, rescuing many of his comrades and killing numerous enemy combatants.

During WWII, Tibor Rubin was liberated by the US Army from a concentration camp in Hungary and immigrated to the USA. In 1950, he joined the US Army and was sent to Korea. On two occasions (first against the North Koreans; then against the Chinese) Tibor’s sergeant deliberately put him at great risk, having him cover retreating soldiers with only a machine gun. The first time, Tibor was unscathed. The second time, after inflicting substantial casualties on the enemy, he suffered multiple wounds and was captured. Relying on skills that had kept him alive in WWII, Tibor saved the lives of 40 American prisoners of war by, among other things, stealing food from the Chinese. In Tibor’s own words, it was a mitzvah.

In 1951, Leonard M. Kravitz was a 20 year-old Brooklyn boy serving as a soldier attached to an Infantry Regiment in Korea. The regiment was attached by a staggering number of heavily armed enemy forces. Leonard grabbed a machine gun and told everyone, “to get the hell out of here while you can.” He successfully enabled their retreat. The next day, he was found dead behind his machine gun with enemy bodies strewn everywhere.

Jewish Medal of Honor Recipients

Abraham Cohn
Sydney Gumpertz
Isadore Jachman
Jack H. Jacobs
Leopold Karpeles
Benjamin Kaufman
Leonard M. Kravitz
John Levitow
Benjamin Levy
Samuel Marguilies
Tibor Rubin
Ben L. Solomon
William Sawelson
Simon Suhler
David Urbansky
Raymond Zussman